Third eye pressure

thumbnail
Brian Eleven, modified 13 Years ago at 9/21/10 1:42 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 9/21/10 1:42 PM

Third eye pressure

Hi, I'm new to this and just have a question or 2. I've been focusing on my breath, trying to increase my concentration. I'm sitting between 40 & 120 minutes/day and have been for about 3-4 months. I've had some very pleasant experiences with this practice, feelings of vast openness, tingling on the skin and general mild euphoria. For the past couple of weeks I've been experiencing a pressure in my forehead around my temples. It begins while I'm sitting and continues afterwards for about 30 minutes. The last 3-4 days this pressure has moved to the area between, and slightly above, my eyebrows. The first time I could feel it slowly move across my forehead, and now it seems to move back and forth very quickly. I've also noticed a vastly increased ability to remain mindful in my everyday life. It feels very similar to my attention when I am seated. I remain focused and become distracted every few minutes but then come back. I'm finding that I can stay with my breath while reading or casually interacting with people. Now the questions, is the pressure in my forehead a result of my meditation, or am I getting a tumor(lol)? Is this increasing level of mindfulness that I'm experiencing normal, and should I keep up with samatha? I've been doing some noting but find that it distracts me, will if eventually lead to other benefits and is worth the initial awkwardness? I'm also curious if anyone may have some idea where I am on the map? Thanks in advance for any responses.
thumbnail
Dan Bartlett, modified 13 Years ago at 9/21/10 2:01 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 9/21/10 2:01 PM

RE: Third eye pressure

There's not enough information here to judge "where you are", but the third eye pressure is a very common phenomena amongst insight meditators so don't worry about that.