By Way of Introduction...

thumbnail
Rashed Arafat, modified 12 Years ago at 7/14/11 2:04 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 7/14/11 2:04 PM

By Way of Introduction...

Hey Guys,

I've been reading Daniel's book Mastering the Core Teachings of the Buddha for about a year now, but I didn't start doing the practices that he lays out until several months ago. For the record, I feel I must state that I do not consider myself a "formal" Buddhist. I got into seeking Enlightenment somewhere around 5 - 6 years ago, and began with the teachings of Richard Rose -- www.tatfoundation.org -- and Gurdjieff. Although neither of them talked explicitly about the nuts and bolts of meditation, I dug around and settled on a style of meditation that's largely informed by Zazen and Transcendental Meditation (I have interacted with one of the students of Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, who taught me his technique).

In its essence, what I had been doing for the last 5 - 6 years was sitting for a specific duration (ranging from 15 - 50 minutes), once or twice a day, generally with closed eyes, and simply noticing the sense of existing. I did not try to direct my attention anywhere -- the conceptual framework behind the exercise being that it's the idea of basic volition that's a mistake. Things happen entirely on their own, and the sense of a separate 'doer' is what obstructs that Recognition.

However, I have indeed had mantras, which I did not work to invoke, but which simply arose spontaneously. When a mantra would appear, my attention would find it more natural to settle on it as opposed to the "stories" going on in my mind. But likewise, when the mantra would trail off, I'd just let it go, assuming that all I had to do was just "be" with "what was/is" (even if that was "stories").

This technique has been called "effortlessness."