Back in Re-observation in a big way, don't know exactly how to h

ananda pacheco, modified 12 Years ago at 2/18/12 5:54 AM
Created 12 Years ago at 2/18/12 5:54 AM

Back in Re-observation in a big way, don't know exactly how to h

hello all! I've just joined here, hoping to get some advice...
I've been meditating for several years now. I've been through the dukkha nanas at the end of 2010, following a long, glorious, spell in jhanic land with all its whistles & bells, so I even thought I had control over dukkha. But suddenly the.horrors of the dukkha nanas came like a hurricane. As there was nothing I could do but allow it to be, I accepted it and after about 4 months things start to shift and peace arised in the mind.
I've done a lot of retrets last year, and I could even say I become an almost full-time Dhamma practiioner. I was trying hard to get anywhere, it just happened that Dhamma became central to my life.
In August last year my mind dropped into an amazing, luminous place ( which I'm not sure which of the arupa jhanas could be, if any), soon followed by a blackness of nothing, which I can't identify it either. My experience of the aupa jhanas is hit and miss, as you may have guessed. The rupa jhanas are more easily accessed though metta practice.

But now I'm back in Re-observation, and it took me awhile to realise that..Everything became painful, the thoughts hurt the mind as if a sharp metal is scratching a mirror..everything that enters the sensery field, pleasant or unplesant, feels stressful, loud and noisy. The first thing that I notice ( I thought it was real) it was a smell of burning and rotten meat or something like that, I can't even describe the smell as it is so weird.. I kept searching for the soure of that smell, untill I realised it didn't come from anywhere but my mind.