Metta practice leads to extreme tension, how to proceed?

thumbnail
fivebells , modified 12 Years ago at 3/28/12 2:11 PM
Created 12 Years ago at 3/28/12 2:11 PM

Metta practice leads to extreme tension, how to proceed?

I have been doing metta meditation for a couple of months. It seems that something like metta practice is appropriate at the moment because there's been a lot of stress and negativity lately. The practice ideally consists of inclusive awareness of the six senses, and opening my heart to the experience of that. The inclusive awareness is not much of a problem, at least at first, but opening my heart is. The trick my teacher suggests for this is to imagine someone you care about and open your heart to them. Then do the same thing for an inanimate object, which basically means cultivating a warm regard for it. What you do when opening your heart to the person and the object, you then practice doing for the expanded field of awareness. Please let me know if I'm not making sense on this point. The imagery worked for me, but I understand if the idea of opening your heart to a paperclip sounds crazy.

The blockage with this practice is that opening my heart to the field of awareness triggers, or perhaps brings to awareness, a tension behind my eyes. Going back to the beginning and including the tension in the field of awareness then opening my heart to that intensifies the tension, and repeating the process intensifies it further. It gets quite painful and stressful, and is pretty clearly not the way forward.