RE: Confused - where do I begin?

Mike Gee, modified 13 Years ago at 4/4/10 1:52 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 4/4/10 1:52 PM

Confused - where do I begin?

Even though I've meditated regularly for more than 3 years (with occasional 2 day retreats), I think I am basically a beginner.

If I look in the blook, I get the message of getting to first jhana and then working with insight.
As far as I understand it, for me, that would be samatha (concentrate intently) practise on the breath. And stick with this until I reach first jhana.
Then go back to my more insight-oriented meditation (with more of noting).

But then I read that samatha before insight is debated, and that perhaps one should go for insight first to reach stream entry, and then jhana will follow more easily?

Are all these mental concepts just confusing me?

Any advice on how to go about it?
(perhaps more of a concrete "practise this, then that" nature?)

Thanks for bearing with me!
emoticon
thumbnail
Florian, modified 13 Years ago at 4/4/10 2:28 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 4/4/10 2:28 PM

RE: Confused - where do I begin? (Answer)

Hi Mike,

I think of this samatha-vipassana thing as a spectrum. Pure concentration state at one end, pure insight practice at the other end. The two blend into each other in-between. For example, I find that noting practice is also a training in concentration. Or, the qualities of a concentration jhana can become the object of vipassana.

Regarding concepts, I find the buddhist teaching of the "five spiritual faculties" very useful. There's a chapter on those in MCTB.

Here's one concrete thing to try (I do it this way myself): A daily sit of (initially) 15 minutes of light, fun, pure concentration. Try several objects, i.e. some aspect of the breath, a colored paper kasina, a candle flame, or a meditation word, or whatever - find out what works for you, then stick to it for a few weeks. And, from the start, another daily sit doing pure noting practice.