Newb-ist Starting Home Jhana Practice.

thumbnail
Harry F B, modified 10 Years ago at 4/17/13 11:16 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 4/17/13 11:16 AM

Newb-ist Starting Home Jhana Practice.

Hi all,

I've just joined here. Have enjoyed looking over the site. emoticon

I'm starting practicing the Jhanas at home using the Leigh Brasington and Daniel Ingram online resources as guides (and thanks to both for their generosity!)

I live in Ireland where I have not yet been able to source a teacher of Jhana practices.

I've been sitting zazen for the guts of 8 years, both at home and on retreats.

I'd welcome any comments/advice/insights about practicing the Jhanas at home in daily practice. I generally sit for an hour per day as it stands.

All the best,

Harry.
B B, modified 10 Years ago at 4/17/13 3:03 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 4/17/13 3:03 PM

RE: Newb-ist Starting Home Jhana Practice.

Hi Harry, I'm also from Ireland and have been seriously practicing for about a year. I first concentrated on jhana before regularly practicing vipassana so I'm going to have a go at giving you advice on entering them. It took me about 8 months of practicing formally at least an hour almost every day and at any other suitable occasion, like reading or attending lectures. Then over the course of 3 days I suddenly found I had access to all 8 and continue to have quite easily. I also spent 3 years before getting my act together struggling to get beyond the first jhana, so I'm also quite familiar I think with many of the ways to get it wrong.
  • First of all, I've found it helpful to set aside any ambitions of attaining hard jhana (i.e. Ajahn Brahm's definition of jhana). A lot of the careful preparation and slow build up with that can be done away with.
  • Mindfulness I've found is almost everything. Some of the fastest progress I've made when developing concentration has occurred when I haven't even narrowed my attention at all but just took the sensations that made up my body as object.