Noting

Cres Cendo, modified 13 Years ago at 7/3/10 8:43 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 7/3/10 6:58 PM

Noting

Quick question on Noting. Is it important to mentally label phenomenon, i.e. "thinking" when a thought happens or "painful sensation" on feeling pain or it is sufficient to be discretely aware of these things without using mental labels? The same for breathing; can I just observe the rising and falling of breath or do I have mentally label like a mantra?
Thanks.
Noah 42, modified 13 Years ago at 7/4/10 3:31 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 7/4/10 3:31 AM

RE: Noting (Answer)

Hi Cres,

I'm not that experienced, so hopefully more experienced practicioners will chime in.

As I understand it though, one should indeed make a mental note of the sensation you're observing, be it a thought, pain, breath or whatever you can observe.
The trick seems to be that while you're observing the rising of breath for example, you note 'rising, rising, rising' and realise that every 'rising' points at a different instant of the rising breath. So when you note rising for the second time, the first 'rising' sensation has utterly vanished.
This way you can train yourself to notice the different sensations that make up the rising breath and note them individually. I think you should prevent it from becoming a mantra. Make every note pinpoint the one sensation you're experiencing at this single moment. The aim is to eventually see the stills that make up the film.

Daniel also stresses the importance of speed. So see if you can speed up and note as many sensations as you can. It helps to keep notes practically short, so instead of 'painful sensation' I'd note 'pain'. When thing really speed up you can also make use of single syllables like 'dit' or 'dat' or something.