Nausea

Christopher, modified 5 Years ago at 10/23/18 4:17 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 10/23/18 4:17 AM

Nausea

I'm new to all this and I'm amazed at how much detailed theory and discussion there is out there. It's great. My question: I've been doing what I think is a choiceless awareness walking practice for a while and on a couple of occasions it has made me feel overwhelmingly sick. I wonder what this is and how to deal with it. Should I push through or do something else? I can't see much written on the topic. It's happened twice and I've felt it coming on a few other times and backed off. Both times I wrenched and thought I would actually be sick. The sensensation is of all of the things I'm sensing being completely overwhelming, with an exhilarating element but also of it being too much to handle, everything rushing together. The first time the sensation occurred about ten minutes after the mediation, and the second time it occurred during it. I've done the specific process that lead to the nausea maybe fifty or sixty times. 

Background: not a very heavy-going practice. I did headspace about four years ago and since then have done an independent practice based on that using a timer, 15-30 minutes 3-6 times per week. This summer I got more serious and did some reading, including Daniel's book, though I'm pretty time limited these days too. Before all that I did a lot of long distance running and got in to some interesting states doing this — what I thought was runners high must have been the result of a kind of concentration practice that I’d developed without knowing what it was (matching breathing to pacing, focusing on breathing, counting breaths in sets of eight, noticing discomforts in the body, examining them, and returning to the breath).
thumbnail
Andromeda, modified 5 Years ago at 10/23/18 6:55 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 10/23/18 6:55 AM

RE: Nausea