Message Boards Message Boards

Toggle
Meaning ?
Answer
10/24/18 7:06 PM
I’m new to meditation, about 4weeks and about 45 min/day. Some independent research and some on-line instruction. I saw Daniel Ingram on  Robert Wright’s show and that brought me here. I wanted to relay my experience during meditation today. I had a very pleasant experience where it seemed like some entity reached out a hand and cupped my chin and said “welcome lovely student.” I found myself trying hard to have to have both hands cup my chin but that didn’t happen. Then the phone rang and it all faded away. I’m just curious if anyone else has had this type experience and what it might mean if anything. Thanks and Peace to all.

RE: Meaning ?
Answer
10/24/18 9:06 PM as a reply to Crockett Gunn.
Hello Crockett,

Sounds like a very interesting experience! It's tough to tell what it could be for a couple of reasons. I'll lay out some questions that might help you (and others on this forum) to get a better understanding of what this might mean so as to guide this discussion in a productive direction:

What drew you to meditation in the first place? What are your long term goals and hopes related to meditation practice?

What are your goals/intentions during a single meditation session? Are you trying to chill-out and increase concentration, or are you trying to gain insight into how the mind creates a reality/sense-of-self out of various sensations?

Were you practicing a concentration flavored technique or an insight flavored technique (with the understanding that some level of concentration is needed for Insight practice and some level of Insight is needed for concentration practice)? What technique were you practicing specifically (Mahasi noting, Goenka body scan, the style layed out in the book "The Mind Illuminated", mindfulness of breathing, a mantra, or some other technique)?