A Question About No-Self

thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 8/14/09 1:22 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 8/14/09 1:22 PM

A Question About No-Self

Author: BradyE
Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

I'm new to this Buddhism thing, and I've decided to study it in earnest,
but I'm still having trouble with this idea of no-self.

For me, the biggest riddle seems to be:
if self is an illusion, then what force is at work trying to dispel this illusion?
Trent S H, modified 14 Years ago at 8/14/09 4:04 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 8/14/09 4:04 PM

RE: A Question About No-Self

Well, it would have to be (mostly) the same phenomena that you currently take to be a self, right? Except it would be untied in a way that makes the pieces of that self somehow no longer related to each other in a "self" way.

One of the problems that can come up here is that the "perceptual self" and the "conceptual self" are easily blurred, and so the concept of no-self tends not to make much sense in that light. In example: an enlightened person can still conceptualize the self, such as "I know what I typically prefer for dinner," but do not perceive the self, such as "why was I mean to my co-worker? That's just not me!"

Sorry for the circular & somewhat vague answer, but that's about as good as I can do on this one.
thumbnail
Ian And, modified 14 Years ago at 8/14/09 7:11 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 8/14/09 7:11 PM

Your own realization of the self that you've created out of the five aggregates.

If you look closely at the five aggregates (form, feeling, perception, volition, and consciousness) you see that each of these is impermanent, unsatisfactory, and without self. They form an illusion of a self, but are not "a self" in and of themselves in aggregate.