Meditation causes a disabling heaviness on the top of the head

thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 8/29/09 7:07 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 8/29/09 7:07 PM

Meditation causes a disabling heaviness on the top of the head

Author: pittr
Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Hi all,

I was wondering if someone has experienced a similar problem related to meditation practice and perhaps knows the solution:

I’ve been meditating regularly for about 6 months now, usually about 90 minutes before sleep and after waking up – pretty much straight samatha meditation with breath as the object. The meditation sessions have been getting progressively better – more calm, concentration, etc.

My problem generally occurs during the day (so outside of meditation sessions) – a kind of heaviness starts increasing at the top of my head. It’s not a headache or pain, but more like a pressure – like wearing something heavy on the head. It usually lasts for about 4-6 hours and then disappears, but during these 6 hours I feel almost disabled because it’s hard to do anything productive due to heaviness.

I went for a medical check up – everything is fine. When I stop meditation for a couple of weeks, the problem stops completely. But as soon as I resume regular meditation, the problem returns. One of my friends who does tai chi explained me that my energy is getting trapped at the top of my head as a result of meditation and that I should visualize it flowing out of my head. I tried this and it provides some relief, but it doesn’t seem to solve the actual problem. I mean what needs to be done differently so that this problem doesn’t happen at all?

Thanks you for your help
Pit
Craig N, modified 14 Years ago at 8/31/09 2:10 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 8/31/09 2:10 AM

RE: Meditation causes a disabling heaviness on the top of the head

Hi pittr