Goenka Scanning vs. Mahasi Noting - retreat report and question

eric d, modified 13 Years ago at 9/28/10 8:37 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 9/28/10 8:37 AM

Goenka Scanning vs. Mahasi Noting - retreat report and question

Hey all,

Lurking here for a while and first want to thank everyone that is a part of this community. This is a truly remarkable section of the internet, and the world, and very inspiring to see.

I have been meditating on and off for about 6 years, first doing zazen for a while, then doing qigong type exercises that were more body-based. My main practices for a long time were simply being present in the body, and trying to remain in a state of empty mind - empty of thought, that is.

I came across MTHCTB last year and read it through, was very inspired and began to practice vipassana. Practiced about 30 minutes a day for 3 or 4 months, until I moved to South America. It was a move from the states and life here has been very different, constantly changing, and in the midst of all the movement I lost the regularity of my sitting practice. Still in all moments I try to come back to the present and rest in the emptiness of everything, the sights and sounds and smells of the city, sensations, staying quietly and smilingly in the middle of all of this, watching as it arises and passes with each moment.

I just attended a 10-day Goenka retreat in Buenos Aires. It was good. I found the conditions to be less than optimal - there were neighbors nearby playing cumbia all day and night very loudly, that one could hear in the meditation hall - but I still feel I progressed.