Side Effects

thumbnail
Ward Law, modified 5 Years ago at 11/18/18 8:56 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 11/18/18 8:54 AM

Side Effects

In view of the attention being given to the side effects and potential dangers of meditation, I want to offer a warning about a relevant subject: the side effects of psychoactive prescription drugs, which I'll refer to herein as "meds." I say this is relevant because people experiencing negative, unbalancing effects from meditation are typically advised to seek "professional help." Well, one needs to be quite discriminating when choosing a therapist and quite conservative when considering a course of drug treatment.

The destructive effects of meds, both to individuals and society, are an under-appreciated and under-discussed crisis; and I suggest that this is not accidental, considering the political/economic power of Big Pharma. The latter is more than happy for the media to keep focusing on meditation and other spiritual practices.

Caveat: I am not a professional, so do your own diligence.

I can speak from experience only regarding SSRIs, but my advice is worth considering in general: 

1) Be a tough patient and demand a convincing argument as to why you need to start taking the drug your provider is recommending. Double this reluctance if he/she is recommending a combination of meds. Note that there might indeed be a compelling reason for you to agree to this: for example, if your life, or someone else's, is in danger (I'm thinking of antipsychotics, for example).

2) Ask lots of questions about what side effects to expect; and do your own research in this regard. Again, this is doubly important if a drug combo is being recommended.