Strange Experience

thumbnail
Wet Paint, modified 14 Years ago at 5/18/09 1:35 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 5/18/09 1:35 AM

Strange Experience

Author: BozhidarMihaylov
Forum: Dharma Overground Discussion Forum

Hi.I'm new to Buddhism,meditation and this site.I have read a few books(mostly Zen) and meditated a bit.However i stopped until i stumbled upon Daniel Ingram's book(MCTemoticon.Given that I'm a science guy i find it magnificently pragmatical and down to earth.
I am a bit scared because the following happened yesterday:before going to bed i meditated(just paying attention to my breath).After that
when i went to bed and I was in a really peaceful state(I'm a bit edgy and that is not usual for me).Before i closed my eyes my vision started to darken(while it was already dark in the room i was able to see everything before that).It was as if i was watching a huge monitor and it's pixels were burning out in small groups.I got scared and and the adrenalin ended it thus stopping it from "taking" the few last spots of vision.After that i got curious and somehow focused and managed to conjure this state a few more times(with diminishing returns).I'm in the beginning of MCTB
and i realise this all must be described there but because i have to study for exams its not possible for me to read it very fast(i think that its more useful to use the precious time for practice).So please give me some explanation.I think its too early for me to experience such bizarre states.
thumbnail
Florian, modified 14 Years ago at 5/18/09 1:56 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 5/18/09 1:56 AM

RE: Strange Experience

Hi Bozhidar,

Maybe you hit a jhana state - after emerging, the mind is calm and bright and can do some really surprising things.

Don't worry about it. If the experience repeats, you will learn more about it; if it's a one-time event, it was just that.