no - self experience ?

thumbnail
p m c, modified 13 Years ago at 10/16/10 2:39 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 10/16/10 2:33 AM

no - self experience ?

Hi all !

Yesterday while sitting ín the back-seat of a car, travelling to work, I practised choiseless awareness and my attention came to rest on the 'head-support' (don't know the proper word) of the seat in front of me when there suddenly was this radical shift in perspective - there was no longer anyone watching/commenting on the experience and 'I' wasn't even aware of what 'I' was watching. There was just 'that and awareness of that.

I've had similar experiences before but then I always knew what I was watching although the commenting had stopped but this time there was just that and awareness of that.

I have been hanging around in equanimity/high equanimity for maybe two months with the occasional back-slide into dark night but equanimity has been really solid and steadey the last month and I have even stopped sitting and still things just continue unfolding. I write that as to give a context to the above experience.

Also another question.
I asked Tarin about this in another thread but probably should have started a new thread for that question so this is the new thead...
I've been thinking about what is most important to cross the border into stream entry and having recently finished reading '
the three pillars of zen' and all the accounts of people getting kensho of various depth when sitting with a koan such as 'MU' it is obvious that there is no insight or attention or looking for this or that; it is all about raising enough energy/friction/ till one pops.

I would be really interested in hearing some views on this - insight/precision vs. desperation/brute force.

thanks

michael
Pavel _, modified 13 Years ago at 10/16/10 4:54 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 10/16/10 4:54 AM

RE: no - self experience ?

Hey man,

It sounds like an experience of no-self alright, congratulations :-)