5 element/5 dakinis for insight without visualization?

thumbnail
Linda ”Polly Ester” Ö, modified 5 Years ago at 1/13/19 9:40 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 1/13/19 9:37 AM

5 element/5 dakinis for insight without visualization?

Has anyone worked with or thought about working with Ken McLeod’s five elements / 5 dakinis from Unfettered mind and the book Wake up to your life for insight practice without using the visualization exercises? I’m not a visual type of person and I’m not really good at imagining things. Still I think that the reaction patterns and qualities that Ken McLeod brings up are quite useful both for growing as a human being and for letting go of the fears that make us hold on to our separate selves.

I haven’t read the book yet, myself, but I will order it as soon as I can afford it. Right now I going through the recorded sessions here: http://unfetteredmind.org/five-elements-five-dakinis

I would be interested in trying exercises that might work better for someone who is more kinestetically inclined, like I think I am. In session 7 there are a few suggestions for alternative exercises (quote from the transcript):

”Another exercise I often do with people is have them tell a story—the same story—in each of the five elements. And different points will be emphasized.

Another exercise is to observe and act in one element one day, another element the next day, and so forth. And so you really get a sense of how it operates. Another possibility is to take a specific activity, one that you do everyday, and do it in each of the five elements. What are the differences.”