from anapanasati to MS noting at Panditarama Lumbini

Brian, modified 5 Years ago at 1/21/19 2:05 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 1/21/19 2:05 AM

from anapanasati to MS noting at Panditarama Lumbini

I've been practicing according to the anapanasati sutta for about three years. Anytime I'm sitting relatively still, like now as I type this, or when I'm reading a book, I seem to settle into some kind of pre-jhana state where each inbreath seems to deliver another dose of pleasant feelings. The pleasant feeling of well-being can get pretty strong even when I'm not formally practicing. It feels like a low dose of MDMA. If I deliberately practice then I will probably feel like C-3PO (as if I am made out of glittering gold) on a big dose of MDMA. (I don't use drugs anymore -- I just don't know what else to compare my experiences to)

I plan to practice at Panditarama Lumbini in February and March. It will be my first serious retreat. I haven't done Mahasi Sayadaw-style noting, but I've read chapter 5 of Practical Insight Meditation and listened to the instructions Ven. Vivekananda gave at a recent retreat at IMS Forest Refuge.

I'm looking for more information about how to transition from anapanasati practice (breathing sensitive to the whole body, sensitive to rapture) to noting. Is there overlap? Is it OK if the rapture feelings happen? Can I follow the standard noting instructions in the midst of jhana feelings?
shargrol, modified 5 Years ago at 1/21/19 6:05 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 1/21/19 6:05 AM

RE: from anapanasati to MS noting at Panditarama Lumbini

Brian, the short answer is there is a lot of overlap --- it's always the same human mind at the base of the practice! emoticon