Abstaining from Entertainment

Roger Kim, modified 5 Years ago at 2/14/19 12:46 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 2/14/19 12:46 AM

Abstaining from Entertainment

Hello first time here! I always wondered about this. I've been meditating consistently for 3 months now (1-2 hr a day using TMI). I find that internet browsing (youtube,music) and eating delicious food seem to hinder my practice in a way that mindfulness is disrupted during these activities. Some have said just enjoy the pleasure for now and some have said to drop it. I'm more on the "drop it" crowd. I'm wondering what you guys think of this? Should I drop these activities entirely in pursuit of stream entry?
deleteaccountplease thereisnofacility, modified 5 Years ago at 2/14/19 1:43 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 2/14/19 1:43 AM

RE: Abstaining from Entertainment

Hi Kim,

When I was new to practice I developed an aversion to electronics and to entertainment and was quick to give away my TV.  I'd say if you have this urges early on be curious about them.  Is your aim to be Nun?  Or are you someone who wants to be mindfully engaged in the world?  for if this your intention then my advice would be keep one foot in the world at least.  Other wise this practice can literally turn you into someone you never in your wildest dreams would have imagined becoming - i.e a monastic.

If on the other hand you think the practice needs a moral code I'd examine that too.  

The thing is if you are practicing to 'be' in the world 'be' in the world, as it is easy to lose your footing, at least in my experience;  it starts with the TV and ends up close to renunciation.  And if that isnt your life plan, put the breaks on.

Hope that makes sense, only my experience tho emoticon 

Nicky
thumbnail
Jordi, modified 5 Years ago at 2/14/19 5:01 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 2/14/19 4:59 AM