What just happened?

David, modified 5 Years ago at 2/14/19 9:21 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 2/14/19 9:21 PM

What just happened?

Thank you for reading this and for this forum's existence!

A bit of my history: I've been meditating on and off for about 5 years, daily for the last 2 years, and daily for 45 minutes a day for 5 months since discovering TMI. When I started TMI I was immediately at stage 4 and progressed to stages 6 and often 7. For the last month or so I've been experimenting with both jhana practice (per Leigh Brasington), as well as insight focusing on maintaining awareness of rapidly changing sensations and staying present to them, without noting.

Today, due to normal life suffering, I went into this meditation with a mild heaviness in my chest representing a bit of depression/anxiety. Due to the discomfort of this sensation I had a stronger than usual intention to practice effectively. At a certain point, while keeping my attention on the breath but maintaining decent awareness of the rapidly changing sensations (mostly visual, with some of the sensation in my chest), I decided to drop the effort of maintaining awareness on my breath and let it go wherever it wanted. For about a second my vision became fuzzy and unclear, and I had the sensation that this was poor technique, but decided to let it continue throughout that one second. Then my attention became refocused, and I was percieving in a new, clearer way, with much less mental and sensory noise. The discomfort in my chest decreased significantly, but was still there. Over the course of about 5 minutes, my mental state shifted back and forth between different degrees of intensity of this state of perceiving. At one point, I felt strong fear, which I decided to let myself feel fully, and then by heart began to beat rapidly and powerfully for about 30 seconds, the fear washing through me.