Is this the dark night?

thumbnail
Beoman Claudiu Dragon Emu Fire Golem, modified 13 Years ago at 10/27/10 12:34 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 10/27/10 11:49 AM

Is this the dark night?

Hello all,

I'm wondering whether I'm experiencing the negative effects of the Dark Night or if I'm just having some standard life problems... or both, perhaps?

I've had some experiences that I've related to others here and were described as probably A&P events. Those I've had sober. I also had some interesting experiences while under the influence of MDMA.. like incredible mind power when I sat and meditated for a few minutes. I felt like I noticed every single moment of those in- and out-breaths. But I don't know how drugs factor into the insight equation. (And they're not the main focus of my insight practice.)

In any case, recently I've been in some of the best moods and some of the worst moods of my life, often in the same day. I'll be getting to work, feeling great, (literally) seeing things more sharply/clearly than before I started meditating.

Then my mood often degrades during the day. I think it stems from my job, mostly, in that I'll find it very difficult to focus on what I'm doing. I'll waste time, then end up having to stay later to do my actual work, which annoys me further. This triggers other negative thoughts. I'll just generally get internally very angry and raging (I can be in a terrible mood but still not really manifest it towards other people), to the point where any thing will set off more negative thoughts.

The bad moods pass, though. Meditating helps actually. Last time this happened, after about 15 minutes of... 'lazy' meditating (I oscillated between focusing on breath, noting, and focusing on internal energy, kind of haphazardly..) the negativity diminishes.