Talking with non-practitioners about Dark Night

Sean Lindsay, modified 13 Years ago at 10/28/10 12:41 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 10/28/10 12:41 PM

Talking with non-practitioners about Dark Night

I've been working through a Dark Night period for several months. Most of the time off the meditation cushion, I've been able to keep the fears and unhappiness to myself, but recently, it's gotten orders of magnitude worse (perhaps reobservation?), and for several days I've found myself significantly impaired from my normal work and family interactions.

I don't attempt to bridge the understanding gap at work, but at home my wife deserves more than silence from me. She is more than willing to do what she can, but I find it difficult to put into words that make sense to a non-practitioner (and non-Buddhist) enough to give her a sense of what's going on.

What I've tried so far sounds mystifying and more than a little like mental illness to her. That's fair, as before I started meditating, it would have sounded that way to me, too.

Any suggestions about describing vipassana stages -- or even just Dark Night, since that's the part that seems to affect family more than the others -- to non practitioners would be welcome.
Ona Kiser, modified 13 Years ago at 10/28/10 1:26 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 10/28/10 1:26 PM

RE: Talking with non-practitioners about Dark Night (Answer)