I feel terrrible. Is this the dark night? What should I do?

thumbnail
Tom Smith, modified 13 Years ago at 10/30/10 6:43 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 10/30/10 6:43 PM

I feel terrrible. Is this the dark night? What should I do?

I've been practicing for many years, mostly Vipassana and Zen. I have times of ecstasy. There are times when I consider myself enlightened, but I know it is only temporary. I also have very difficult and dark times, and when I practice more, I have more of the difficult and dark times. I sometimes have intense anxiety. Sometimes intense despair.

When I am in the ecstatic, clear, enlightened state, I have no complaints. Life is wonderful. When I am in the dark state, I wonder if I am doing something wrong, or if perhaps I have some basic mental instability that is not being helped with practice, or even made worse with practice.

Does this make me a Dark Night Yogi?

I am currently experiencing lots of anxiety. I have been a fearful anxious person all my life. My mother told me she noticed that in me very early. I am now 60. I have learned to live with and deal with the anxiety and I have long periods of relative freedom from it, but when it kicks in it sure is hard.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
thumbnail
Tom Smith, modified 13 Years ago at 10/30/10 8:00 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 10/30/10 8:00 PM

RE: I feel terrrible. Is this the dark night? What should I do?

One other detail. I have been practicing more recently. For the last 3 weeks I have been going to a local Vedanta temple 6 days a week and meditating 2-5 hours every afternoon. There have been some wonderful experiences. Deep calm. Opening. No Self type stuff. But also these periods of intense anxiety.
thumbnail
tarin greco, modified 13 Years ago at 10/31/10 3:57 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 10/31/10 3:57 AM

Tom Carr: