My Turn in the Dark Night

Steven E Barnes, modified 5 Years ago at 3/3/19 5:30 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 3/3/19 5:29 PM

My Turn in the Dark Night

I'm busy re-reading MTCB and various threads on the DN, but thought I'd get things going with a basic question.

I'm currently unemployed, and when not dealing with family duties, could be doing a lot of meditation. How hard should I go at this?

I don't have a regular teacher, but will be contacting one I've worked with in the past.

My current state: just got over a bad bout of existential paralysis, so things are OK again. Did a guided vipassana meditation, took a break, and will resume insight practice soon. In addition to my unemployment problem, I've got some health issues to deal with, but they are manageable so far. My recent attack of bronchitis has forced me to stop my mild cannabis habit. I've experienced some withdrawals, but should be over the worst.

I've been meditating seriously for about 5 years, with both MTCB and TMI. (So yes, TMI can land you in the dark night). Did a 10 day home retreat last year, with no problems. I powered up my meditation after my job ended 2 months ago, and that has both accellerated my progress, and put me into the DN. Well I was probably cycling before, just not as severely.

5 days ago, had a complete collapse of my sense of self-worth. The next day, had an amazing break through while walking in the woods; this was presumably equanimity. Sense of suffering totally vanished, awareness open and spacious. Actions were happening by themselves. That sense of self which was in crisis had been observed to be unrelated to my actual actions and thoughts. This lasted several hours, until I realized I needed to go to the emergency room...
shargrol, modified 5 Years ago at 3/4/19 6:02 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 3/4/19 6:02 AM

RE: My Turn in the Dark Night

Steven E Barnes:
This lasted several hours, until I realized I needed to go to the emergency room...