Difficult emotions all day long

Mario, modified 5 Years ago at 3/16/19 2:15 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 3/16/19 1:59 PM

Difficult emotions all day long

Hi all,

Found the community through a Daniel Ingram video.

Background:

It has been a month since I decided to increase my meditation time to 1h a day (although some days I couldn't meditate). I have been meditating on and off for about 8 years. Besides this, I am doing medical treatment for depression and anxiety for about 3 years. My doctor understands and encourages meditation.

I discussed the following with him, and he believes it's a normal part of life. So, from the medical perspective I am clear, but as a more serious meditator, I would like to hear your thoughts and experiences on this.

Recently I have been dealing with negative emotions all day. For most of my life (I am in the early 30s) I have been "rational", logic, always thinking emotions were some kind of weakness. Today it's very clear this was more of an (emotional) illusion/defense than real rationality.

These emotions have been mostly related to a break-up that I thought I had dealt with. I am not sure if it's just an association with it, or the break-up is a cause. I was taking a break from a relationship with this girl, hoping we could get back together at a better time, but in December she found someone else. Part of me still believes I can "do something", but nothing really changed from the motives that made me decide to get away from the relationship. Crazy...

I am very competitive and blame myself for having "lost her" to another man. Besides, I always dealt with deep thoughts about never being "good enough". So you see the recipe for disaster was ready emoticon

I think this goes deeper than just being with the girl or not.