Concentration and Insomnia

Mitchell H Kronenberg, modified 5 Years ago at 3/18/19 10:05 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 3/18/19 9:22 PM

Concentration and Insomnia

About 5 years ago I started practicing Vipassana meditation more seriously (not having practiced much since doing a number of retreats in the 1980s).  Over the last three years, I've been meditating 1 1/2 - 2 hours a day and doing 1 or 2 retreats each year.  I found that on these retreats I would unintentionally fall into access concentration (When it first happened, I didn't know what access concentration was).  I decided to do more of a concentration practice (Anapanasati).  I have found that after a few days on a concentration retreat, even though I've reached access concentration, I end up very agitated,unable to sleep, and exhausted. The insomnia does not end until I stop meditating for a day or two, and the agitation lasts a day or two more.  This is the opposite of my usual experience of meditation, which has generally brought me a greater sense of ease.

At this point, I'm not sure how to proceed.  I'm wondering if anyone has had a similar experience.  I'd like to do more retreats and concentration practice,  but I'm afraid that any kind of intensive retreat might have the same result. On retreats, I try to just continue practicing, noting the agitation, etc., but eventually I find it impossible to continue.  I also worry, perhaps irrationally, that I might induce a more long lasting insomnia. Can anyone suggest a way around this?
Anna L, modified 5 Years ago at 3/19/19 11:57 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 3/19/19 11:55 PM

RE: Concentration and Insomnia

Hi Mitchell

Interesting question. Some meditation techniques may reduce the need for sleep - especially in higher doses and at later stages in practice. E.g. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4054695/