Deeper, more subtle equanimity.

KundaliniLinguini, modified 5 Years ago at 3/19/19 9:34 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 3/19/19 9:34 PM

Deeper, more subtle equanimity.

In my practice, it seems that the first few years, a small attempt at equanimity would have huge effects. I would sit and just try to face reality moment to moment and would have all kinds of spiritual experiences.

Eventually, I had experiences where I saw directly that the world was the mind, the "I" did not exist, etc... I have spent years now with all kinds of weird painful energy sensations in the head etc...

It seems now that I sit with what feels like almost perfect equanimity, and yet I have no spiritual type experiences whatsoever no matter how long I sit. No Jhana, no bliss, no loss of center or boundary, no feeling of movement or traveling, no loss of control, no light, no love, etc...

I guess I just keep sitting? Does practice get more difficult as you "progress to higher levels"??? Did I enter the stream before and am now on the path to the higher levels and those paths are more challenging and take longer? Thanks for the input.
Bailey Nolan Tran, modified 5 Years ago at 3/20/19 9:23 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 3/20/19 9:23 PM

RE: Deeper, more subtle equanimity.

After a certain point in meditation I believe that the abandonment of meditation is necessary. I found this out after cycling through the 9 jhanas a few times. An arhant is freed even from the formless realms of meditation absorbtion. Meaning without any concentration at all the the arhant is in a high state. I would recomend that if you are not gaining anything from sitting. Than you should go use your time bettering your life and others lifes in a more meaningful way.
john paul komperda, modified 4 Years ago at 9/12/19 1:44 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 9/12/19 1:36 PM

KundaliniLinguini: