Using words vs "hitting with the mind"

K N, modified 13 Years ago at 11/10/10 3:34 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 11/10/10 3:34 PM

Using words vs "hitting with the mind"

Hi,

Inspired by MCTB, the DhO and, most recently, my discussion with Tarin, I started practicing noting - well, at least I hope that's what I'm doing! In many of the threads I've read on the subject, people recommend mentally repeating a word for each note. I find that awkward for several reasons. Perhaps most important, things just seem to happen too fast for words to keep up. By the time I mentally utter the word 'rising', I have already experienced many other sensations as well (itching, hearing, sitting, aching, thinking). Instead of using words, I just try to recognize (conceptually 'stamp') every individual sensation as it happens, so that I could, if necessary, describe it with a word or several if I had the time to do that before it disappears and the next sensation arrives. ;) I try to do this as quickly as I can.

Does this sound ok? Although many people have recommended verbal notes, others have seemed to advocate something that could be what I'm doing ("hitting with the mind", Tarin called it here). I noticed that Mahasi Sayadaw says on page 4 of Practical Insight Meditation: "Never verbally repeat the words rising, falling, and do not think of rising and falling as words. Be aware only of the actual process of the rising and falling movement of the abdomen. ... Just be totally aware of the movements of rising and falling as they occur in the course of normal breathing." I realize that there are several threads about this topic, but even having read them I still feel a bit uncertain about whether "I'm doing it right" or if there's some reason why I should be using words even if it feels unintuitive to me right now.