Gardening

pieva, modified 5 Years ago at 3/21/19 3:04 PM
Created 5 Years ago at 3/21/19 3:04 PM

Gardening

Can anyone tell me, how do Buddhists go about gardening?
Moved to a house with a garden that needs quite a bit of work. But it looks that there is a ground worm or two anywhere I poke. I never liked to see them hurt but now, knowing the precepts, it's unbearable!
Or, what do you do when your beloved plants are infested with whiteflies?
pieva, modified 5 Years ago at 3/23/19 10:36 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 3/23/19 10:36 AM

RE: Gardening

Thank you, that's interesting! So we don't have many Jains here.
In the meantime I am happy to accept my father-in-laws offers to help us and shift karma onto his insensitive soul.
thumbnail
Linda ”Polly Ester” Ö, modified 4 Years ago at 5/3/19 3:28 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 5/3/19 3:28 PM

I’m glad someone asked. I have been wondering too. When I was a student I just couldn’t kill those beetle larvae that eat clothes. They seemed so utterly harmless and I thought they were cute and killing them felt so wrong. After a while I had them everywhere and they ate holes in everything that contained natural fibres of any kind. I had to wear pure polyester for several years (it wasn’t modern at the time, but a lot of secondhand polyester clothes were available) to get rid of the invasion. That’s actually how I came up with my nick.
thumbnail
Mista Tibbs, modified 4 Years ago at 2/14/20 2:05 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 2/12/20 9:34 PM

Everybody on the planet, what's up with that? You can get involved with Buddhism but you don't become any thing.

emoticon This is important! Promise I'll get to the topic emoticon

To identify is to create a frame for your self. There are active layers of gross and subtle cogitation in effort to stay within that mental boundary going on at all time. Adding this unnecessary limiting factor will inarguably dampen potential growth... not to mention that it is a logical fallacy in Buddhist art.