Questions From A New Guy On DhO

thumbnail
Tommy M, modified 13 Years ago at 11/12/10 6:16 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 11/12/10 6:16 PM

Questions From A New Guy On DhO

Evening folks,

First up, awesome site and a tremendously encouraging, supportive community. I've got a few questions regarding where I am in terms of progress on the Path and I hope that some people will be able to clarify some things since I'm new to this model of experience. I'd better explain where I've come from so far....

I've been inclined towards altered states of awareness/consciousness since childhood although a Catholic upbringing, in my opinion, stunted my explorations of these states and the understanding of them. Fast forward to my early teens, I had been dabbling with basic meditation but without any base for understanding it when I was struck by what I now understand to have been an A&P experience. I studied various martial arts for ten years or so and had developed high levels of concentration which, combined with my natural inclination towards these states and meditation, now look to have been what brought me to the A&P.

This was followed by approximately four years of the dark night, I knew it wasn't just the emotional upheaval of puberty as it felt distincly different, even to my young mind. As I had no conceptual framework to understand what was going on I had no means, at least consciously, of dealing with it. This led me from blind faith in organised religion to blind skepticism, I denied any possibility of a spiritual dimension to life and saw no point in anything anymore, even though in my heart I knew what I had experienced only a short while beforehand.