Resistance to practice as beginner

First, modified 4 Years ago at 4/1/19 7:25 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 4/1/19 7:25 AM

Resistance to practice as beginner

I am a beginner meditator. I began practicing a month ago after reading The Mind Illuminated and MCTB2.

I practice 20min a day every morning at a set time. Every time I sit, I experience mental resistance to practicing before and during my practice. It feels like mental discomfort as though my mind is squirming to get out of practicing.

Why is this? Is there something I can or should do with this? Does this change over time as I continue to sit?

Thanks for your help in advance, everyone!
thumbnail
Chris M, modified 4 Years ago at 4/1/19 7:32 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 4/1/19 7:31 AM

RE: Resistance to practice as beginner

Yes, this will probably change with time as you practice more. But please realize that this is the first lesson in how your mindworks. You can't control it. As you practice you will learn to relax and observe whatever your mind is doing, and in that relaxing and observing you'll find that your mind will very likely slow down and thoughts will come less frantically.

Keep going - you're making progress already. You noticed this!
thumbnail
Raving Rhubarb, modified 4 Years ago at 4/1/19 8:57 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 4/1/19 8:57 AM

First:
I am a beginner meditator. I began practicing a month ago after reading The Mind Illuminated and MCTB2.

I practice 20min a day every morning at a set time. Every time I sit, I experience mental resistance to practicing before and during my practice. It feels like mental discomfort as though my mind is squirming to get out of practicing.

Why is this? Is there something I can or should do with this? Does this change over time as I continue to sit?