Yuki's insight diary/practice log OHY

Saka Yuki, modified 5 Years ago at 4/4/19 3:51 AM
Created 5 Years ago at 4/2/19 6:53 AM

Yuki's insight diary/practice log OHY

Hi, 

It's been a while since my last log: https://www.dharmaoverground.org/discussion/-/message_boards/message/5858018, but I want to start one anew.

To give my history, I've been practicing meditation on and off for about 8 years.  In the beginning, for a while I have practiced Vipassana meditation such as mahasi noting, body scanning, and practicing according to Mind Illuminated, but later turned to more inquiry based method like Advaita or Liberation Unleashed.   I went througth the process facilitated by Liberation Unleashed about two years ago, gaining an insight into the emptiness of self (subject), which is seeing through the first three fetters according to the 10 fetter model. 

For sometime, I continued along in their approach, using inquiry to try to see through further fetters beyond the first three, but my progress has eventually stagnated, in part due to the fact that my family life got very busy, but perhaps also due to the limitation of inquiry based approach in seeing further subtler fetters, which I got to know later.

I was thus looking for some other approach that could break the ice.  Among other things, Vajirayana buddhism came to my mind for its promise of fast progress even in a busy lay life.

Unfortunately, many lineages of Vajrayana buddhism seem not very open to pragmatic approach due to oath of secrecy.  Luckily, Open Heart Yoga, introduced and discussed on Dho by Kim Katami, promises to be a pragmatic approach to Vajrayana buddhism and many of the practice materials are given online, so I thought to give it a go, and this will be my practice diary to hopefully jot down my thoughts or describe my practice along this line.