Message Boards Message Boards

Toggle
What was this experience?
Answer
4/18/19 6:25 AM
Hello, I am completely new to meditation. Although I had previous experiences with mind states, like tried meditation a few times a couple of years ago, some psychedellic drugs and lucid dreaming / astral projection or whatever that was, I only started meditating regularly a month ago.

I've been doing 20-30 minute sessions using the vipassana labelling technique. Sorry if I don't get the terminology right I'm quite new to this sutff.  So I've been doing this on semi-regular basis, like 4-5 days out of seven. I made a little progress in this period. but nothing remarkable. But 2 days ago I had a meditation that was a little bit better than the previous ones, still very basic but I could sense some qualitative change. I could focus on my breath much more, much deeper than before.  However, this period of more quality meditation didn't last long. But I had a cleaner sense of mind after that. Yesterday was even better. My focus got quite good and it also lasted longer than the other day. My mind got substantially cleaner and stayed like that even after the end of the session. 

At this point I want to emphesize that I did not manage to get any insights not at least one that I know of or managed to notice as one.

So not too long after my meditation yesterday I went to sleep and I fell asleep quite quickly. I tried to do some meditation but I was quick to fall asleep. Roughly an hour later I woke up from sleep and I was like what the hell, I had this astonishing experience: