What was that?!

Mike Smirnoff, modified 4 Years ago at 4/29/19 1:55 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 4/29/19 1:55 PM

What was that?!

Hi everyone!

I'm Mike and I'm new here. I've been practicing since 2001. I've taken 7 Goenka retreats between 2001 and 2010, and since spent a few montat various monasteries. I left the Goenka tradition because of lack of direction. And at that point I had started reading the Suttas, a bit of the Abhidhamma. The Goneka method has never really left me, and I feel like there's no going back at this point. I mean, no going back out of the meditation route -- I might have started a process which I need to finish. Daniel Ingram describes an A&P event. Now, I'm unsure I've passed it, but I like to believe I've at some point, and I also like to believe that I've lived in the dark night for many solid years. Though of course, I'm uncertain of anything.

During Goenka retreats, I don't recall any thing that I'd particularly distinctly remember as A&P event, but I do recall that sensations at the top of my upper lip, when sitting and observing them constantly, and they were weird in the way they changed.  Also, there's a possibility that just as a kid, a traumatic incident might have catapulted me right into A&P. Again, I've no idea.

A very distinct meditation experrience I recall is when during 2007 or 2008, I had taken 10 days off and I was meditating with the book of Jack Kornfield. I was also undergoing some therapy at that point. No wonder, I got into a very deep inner child experience where I split off into two distinct parts, and many more in the middle (at different ages).  This was a pretty strong experience, but I've not seen this as an experience which has any fundamental Buddhist overtones (or does it?).

In general, I've stuck to meditation with sensations in body and tip of the nose. Some times, I have worked with listening to inner "voices"