Staccato reobservation followed by mind and body?

thumbnail
Silas Day, modified 4 Years ago at 5/4/19 11:31 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 5/4/19 11:27 AM

Staccato reobservation followed by mind and body?

Hi all, just wanted to get a second opinion, Doing some pretty intensive ( at least for me) practice during the day at home (4+ hours a day generally split 1 hour walking 3 sitting). I am doing mahasi style noting with the eyes open with my gaze fixed on either a Buddha image, candle flame, or incense smoke. This is my first time really doing intensive Vipassana, basically, all my practice up until this point has either been Zazen or Shamatha. 

I have really and blatantly noticed in my practice recently that I am cycling through mind and body, cause and effect, three characteristics, A&P, the Dukka Nanas, and when I get to reobservation everything kinda goes staccato with me noticing the incense smoke stopping almost mid-air for a few moments, or the candle flame/smoke stopping, or even my cat ceasing to move mid-stride when she walked in front of me one time.

and then all of a sudden i will find myself back at mind and body... what is going on? I really am not quite sure! any advice would be very helpful

To give a little more info I have been doing this amount and style of practice now for just a day shy of a month and have found it quite incredible and suprisingly quick, but this may be do to the sheer amount of shamatha I did up untill this point but who knows!
thumbnail
Linda ”Polly Ester” Ö, modified 4 Years ago at 5/4/19 11:50 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 5/4/19 11:48 AM

RE: Staccato reobservation followed by mind and body?