Practice Log - I managed to get myself up to speed for the second time

Attila Olah, modified 4 Years ago at 5/21/19 12:25 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 5/21/19 12:23 PM

Practice Log - I managed to get myself up to speed for the second time

I've just finished a 45 minutes long sitting, and it was for the second time that I managed to get myself up to speed. I was able to note 4-5 things in one second(OK maybe that's kindof slow for others but I am a beginner), and although that speed wasn't consistent during the practice, I never got lost or caught up in anything.

As oppsed to my last time success, keeping myself in this state was not completely effortless, but it was kind of easy.

I am struggling with integrating a steady object into my meditation. I use the breath at the beginning of the sitting but as soon as I get faster I find concentrating to the breath not only useless, but a hindrace, because if I bring my focus to the breath, my noting speed drops. I can note the individual breath awarenesses, but not paying attention to the other sensations that arise my mind becomes dull and slow. 

Isn't it better to observe the continous arisings of all the sensations rather than focusing on one, like the breath and ignoring the rest?
thumbnail
Chris M, modified 4 Years ago at 5/22/19 6:35 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 5/22/19 6:34 AM

RE: Practice Log - I managed to get myself up to speed for the second time

Different people have success with one or the other, but not usually both, so you have to try each method and decide which one to stick with. You really should stick with the one that suits you best, based on your experience and not someone else's.

Good luck!
Attila Olah, modified 4 Years ago at 5/22/19 9:13 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 5/22/19 9:13 AM