Kundalini and a malevolent presence

Andy W, modified 13 Years ago at 12/24/10 4:43 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 12/24/10 4:43 PM

Kundalini and a malevolent presence

Hello DhOers.

(If you want to know why I'm posting on Christmas Eve, it's because it's the first time in ages that I've been able to do some serious sitting without feeling exhausted from work)

A couple of months ago Daniel Ingram diagnosed me as lurking around the early to mid A&P. I have no jhana experience, at least to my knowledge.

This evening I did some pretty hardcore noting. I am still easily distracted by thoughts, and sometimes by pain, but I can stay with the sensations enough to get pulses, vibrations, flashes and lots of cold, electric kundalini racing up my spine and making me shiver. I find that noting visual sensations is quite powerful: I watch the shifting colours and patterns behind my eyelids and this makes the kundalini get stronger.

I know that I need to throw myself into this with abandon so that I can cross the A&P and get onto the real stuff. But I notice this evening - and it has happened before - that I'm filled with a sense of dread, and feel a kind of malevolent presence at my back. This might be because the kundalini makes my hair stand on end - which of course we all associate with fear.

I have a bit of Christianity lurking in my spiritual history, and this weird dread can feel simultaenously like I'm about to give myself over to the devil and also like the fear of giving myself over completely to God, entering the abyss and hoping he'll catch me. I don't believe in either of these realities, but they seem to be a good way of describing the experience.

Has anyone else experienced this strange sense of dread as the kundalini goes into overdrive and the sensations pile up? And what should I do next to get past it?

Andy
thumbnail
Beoman Claudiu Dragon Emu Fire Golem, modified 13 Years ago at 12/25/10 1:11 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 12/25/10 1:11 AM