Beginners Questions on Mahasi Style

thumbnail
Piers M, modified 13 Years ago at 1/5/11 1:14 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 1/5/11 1:14 AM

Beginners Questions on Mahasi Style

Hi,

I'm new to Mahasi practice but really keen and enthusiastic to give it a go after 9 years of frustration on Goenka retreats!

I did a Mahasi Style retreat recently in Thailand for 3 weeks and now I'm in Malaysia at the Buddhist Hermitage Lunas (BHL) where I plan to stay for 3 months. I've been here for 1 week and just want some advice before I completely switch off from the outside (and online) world in a few days time. The teachers at each place have given some differing instructions.

1) During walking meditation for about an hour the Thai Ajaan said that if something arises that distracts you from the object of your meditation (noting the movement of the feet) eg. an intense emotional state or a noise to STOP (walking) and note it around 3 times slowly eg. Sadness Sadness, Sadness or Hearing, Hearing, Hearing then continue noting the feet.
The Sayadaw here at BHL on the other hand said to only note the movement of the feet and to IGNORE anything else. Just to keep the concentration on the feet. Only if you really have to because the mind is distracted, to STOP and then note it but preferably to wait until you get to the end of the walkway (ie the point you turn around when you are walking to and fro).

2) This brings me nicely to the next question. When you do stop in order to turn around and start walking again in the other direction, the Ajaan suggested to STAND briefly, maybe with eyes closed and just "feel the whole body" or if you cannot do this then to quickly scan it from head to feet once or twice. The Sayadaw at BHL instructs that when standing to just note you are standing (but not to sweep or feel the body). Basically just to keep your attention on what you are doing so you can keep up moment to moment continuous awareness.