The micro-dynamics of concentration meditation (basic questions)

thumbnail
Rich -, modified 13 Years ago at 1/12/11 3:57 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 1/12/11 3:57 PM

The micro-dynamics of concentration meditation (basic questions)

Hola,

I have been meditating on and off for approximately three years now. Sometimes for an hour a day, sometimes for 30 minutes a day, sometimes for 10 minutes a day, and sometimes just phases of "being present" while walking etc. I've attempted many different types of meditation, focusing on the visual field, focusing on postive, cultivating loving-kindness, focusing on shakras, focusing on the breath, self-enquiry ("Who am I?" and "To whom are these thoughts?"), focusing on feel (emotional sensations) focusing on the body shape, observing thoughts and noting (image... talk.. image... feel... image...), etc...

I have never done any formal meditation training. Never set foot in a meditation centre, and never gone on a retreat. Right now that is unlikely to happen as well because I'm in Spain and I'm still learning intermediate Spanish so in excess of the usual difficulties of finding a good spiritual teacher I currently have a significant language barrier. Never the less I'm still planning on attending the local centre soon.

Until recently my meditation did not have much direction. By recently, I mean one week.

After reading the famous book by Dan Ingram I have decided to limit my meditation practices to only thought which develop concentration - I think this is the kind of conclusion that most people reach after reading his book for the first time. As much as I love Shinzen Young, he never made clear, as Daniel did, that you pretty much need "access concentration" at least before you can make good insight progress.

I think as well as just being a basic introduction about who I am, in this post I'd like to know where to learn about effective concentration techniques.