Three Characteristics?

Leonardo bruh sman, modified 4 Years ago at 8/31/19 2:50 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 8/31/19 2:48 PM

Three Characteristics?

Hello guys, this is my first time posting here so pardon me if there are any mistakes. Plus, I am not a native speaker so I would like to apologise in advance.

So, I would like to know if I have 'achieved' the 3rd stage in the 16 stages of insight. A little bit about me: I've been practicing meditation for around 5 months using TMI and am currently at around stage 5/6. Long story short, after reading 'A discourse on Anattalakkhana Sutta' by Mahasi Sayadaw, I became interested in noting and tried it. As I did, realised several things:

1. Without consciousness, you won't be able to 'hear', 'see', etc. Although you might hear a 'sound', without being conscious about it, you won't be able to 'notice' it. And the moment you notice or become conscious of something, feelings arise

2. All the 5 aggregates are connected to each other. For example, consciousness makes feeling appear, and feelings can cause mental formations, memories or bodily movements to rise.

3. These things---the feelings, mental formations, thoughts, consciousness appear due to certain conditions. And because they appear due to certain conditions, you can't really control it. (Before realising this, I didn't only note but also try to discern the three characteristics in the thing that I note, is this okay?)

4. After reading the 'Discourse on Anattalakkhana Sutta', it's evident that these things aren't the 'soul', but they are merely aggregates. The reason for this is because they are connected or interdependent to each other. It's not the 'soul' that feels, as feelings won't arise if there is no consciousness or other aggregates. 

When I was doing noting, I also realise that the aggregates are so fast. For example, a feeling instantly rises after being conscious of a sound.