Jnana State, the symptoms.

thumbnail
Mike John D, modified 14 Years ago at 9/20/09 3:35 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 9/20/09 1:45 AM

Jnana State, the symptoms.

Hi guys & gals, I was hoping that you could help me make sense of this particular state:

I work as a Corrections Officer, and I have a lot of downtime at night; as usual a few years ago one night I was sitting meditating. I had previously experienced Jnanas but because at the time I had a limited contact with spirituality I didn't know what Jnana's were. In this particular case, the Jnana ended up being the highest state I have achieved, before or since.

I was meditating cross legged, still and quiet, when all of a sudden out of nowhere, a panicky thought came jumping in to my head "holy crap! I have to lock up and get to my next duty post!" I turned around to look at the clock on the wall to see if I was late and right away I realized something was definitely not normal. My next thought was "okay I'm out of the chair and I am moving around here, but I am still deeply meditating, what's going on??"

The symptoms:

For the next few days it was as if I was in a deep meditative state, yet I could still walk around and interact with people.

I basically had no thoughts what so ever, just boundless stillness. The odd-observation would arrise mentally, but there was no conceptual thought process at all.

My heart felt like it was run over by a bulldozer, just gushing with outflowing. Like the pictures of old-time saints with the glowing hearts and whatnot. My heart felt very distinctly folded "inside-out" and it felt like there was a "spike" of stillness running vertically between my abdomin and head which had pinned my heart in this inside-out position.