Mental Fatigue

Fastlane, modified 4 Years ago at 9/21/19 11:05 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 9/21/19 11:05 AM

Mental Fatigue

I was hoping to have some discussion of people's experiences with and understanding of mental energy levels when it comes to sitting practice - I'm particularly interested in this subject as I have M.E./Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. It is characterised mainly by very low physical energy, as well as low mental energy/'brain fog' and these symptoms aren't solved by better sleep or anything else and exercise or any physical or mental exertion usually results in increased fatigue.I've been practising for 6 years and had the condition for much longer. Although my mental energy isn't as badly affected as my physical energy - I'm not able to leave the house much and just walking from room to room feels like hard work much of the time - my practice has always seemed particularly difficult due to the feeling of mental sluggishness. I don't know whether others on here can relate at all during times of low energy – I think the type of mental fatigue when having a bad cold or the flu or something may the most relatable – it's not the usual 'tired'/'sleepy' feeling often discussed regarding meditation. I've never actually come close to falling asleep during sitting and I've tried the usual recommendations for sloth & torpor etc.

I have tried sitting at different times of day, not after food, tried open eyes and walking/standing practice, done a bit of qigong in the past but only now am limited to sitting practices only. I've tried various methods samatha, open awareness, metta, TMI, see-hear-feel, somatic practice, noting, recently done the first 50 days of the Waking Up course. It's sometimes recommended to try to use the brain-fog as the meditation object but it's never seemed to be any different from any other meditation object.