Should I switch from Zen to Noting?

Handsome Monkey King, modified 4 Years ago at 9/23/19 10:37 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 9/23/19 10:32 PM

Should I switch from Zen to Noting?

I just finished reading MCTB2 and loved it. I have been practicing Kwan Um Zen for 6 months now with a teacher+sangha, and was meditating on my own for a few years before that. My practice is mantra breathing and kong-an training (not hwadu).

I am considering switching my practice to Mahasi noting, but there are no Vipassana teachers nearby. The Kwan Um group has a recognized teacher and regular half day and weekend retreats. Also, I've read and been warned that it's a bad idea to switch traditions too often since that's like "digging many separate wells, rather than one well". I mentioned not liking the Kwan Um techniques to my teacher and he said that wanting to switch techniques is just "the mind doing what it always does" (meaning trying grasp at something that's not here), so maybe he's right. On the other hand, I have a lot of doubt (as in the hindrance) during meditation because of this tradition.

Do you think the benefit of having regular access to a teacher and short retreats outweigh the benefit of practicing a tradition that I feel would work better and provides clearer instruction?
thumbnail
Jim Smith, modified 4 Years ago at 9/24/19 12:52 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 9/24/19 12:44 AM

RE: Should I switch from Zen to Noting?

I think you should try different practices to find the one that suits you best.

I used to go to a Zen center for the group meditations, retreats, and talks but I didn't do the koan practice and I meditated my own way. I took the five precepts there and no one ever asked me how I meditated. 

I also think you will get more assistance for noting through this forum than you will get for Zen from a Zen master. 

I assume you have thought about why you are meditating and are considering practices that fit your goals. If not, that would be a good thing to do.