Energy practices, jhanas and migraines

Matt, modified 4 Years ago at 10/3/19 12:07 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 10/3/19 12:07 PM

Energy practices, jhanas and migraines

Hi all,

I've been having migraines pretty frequently since the beginning of the year. I didn't have any while on a month-long retreat in February, which might make what I'm going to suggest next seem incredibly unlikely, but I'm wondering if my qigong and jhana practice is contributing to what's going on.

I've been keeping logs of migraines for several months now, trying to identify factors causing them. It looks like there's no single easy answer - it's a combination of factors. I've cleaned up my diet, sorted out my stress etc., and no single change has consistently made a difference.
I did go through a long period of consistently having a migraine either immediately after teaching my weekly meditation class or the next day. Then I managed to disrupt that pattern somehow (but started just having them at random instead). More recently I had a three-week break with no migraines, and I wondered if I'd fixed it, but today I got a real doozy, completely lost vision for a while, which was pretty unhelpful because I was teaching a technical training course at work at the time, and it's hard to help students when you can't see what's on their screens...

Something else I've been doing lately is a lot more meditation. I realised that teaching had really cut into my own practice time and it wasn't doing me much good, so I've moved to sitting 30-40 minutes twice daily absolutely without fail - today is day 89 of that process. It's been amazing in terms of stress relief, getting my jhanas much clearer and more stable again, and moving things along on the insight front too - I have stuff going on now which was previously very much in the 'retreat experience' category.

My current practice: