Attain 1st jhana momentarily, immediately start going to 2nd and lose both

Matthew N, modified 13 Years ago at 3/15/11 7:09 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 3/14/11 5:46 PM

Attain 1st jhana momentarily, immediately start going to 2nd and lose both

I've been meditating for about two months now. My technique was watching the breath at the very tip of the nose, and several weeks ago I developed what I can only guess is called access concentration, in that my mind never truly loses my object anymore, there is occasional side chatter, and the intensity of the concentration wanes and spills but it is always unmistakably there.

I decided to change the focus of my meditation, I guess the cool feeling of the breath at the nose was not pleasing enough, as within 3 meditation sessions with this new focus something amazing happened which lead me here. I began focusing on the feeling of heaviness, letting go of tension, etc at the outbreath and the feeling of invigoration with the inbreath instead of focusing on the physical sensations at the nose.

Shorty after this, I began losing focus of the vague invigoration with the inbreath, all I felt was the heaviness and relaxation deepening, on the inbreath slightly, and greatly on the outbreath.