Hello + Practice Log

Christopher, modified 4 Years ago at 10/21/19 2:03 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 10/21/19 2:00 PM

Hello + Practice Log

Hello Overgrounders!

I've been lurking for a while and wanted to start my practice log here so that I can benefit from the combined wisdom of the group. 

A bit about me:

I've been meditating off and on for the last several years. On my first Goenka retreat I went a bit off the rails (waking up with psychedelic visions every night, bouts of paranoia and euphoria, crazy visualizations, etc) but quickly returned to normal once talking was allowed. I've learned that my mind is quite vivid in concentration practice and I quickly get into stuff thats above my ability with little effort, so I've proceeded with caution since...(I have no history of mental illness besides intermittent anxiety). Reading more on the subject it may have been an A+P... or maybe not!

I read through The Mind Illuminated this last year and have had an intense desire to start meditating again. With two weeks of concentration practice my mind was already drudging up memories, emotions and blanketing waves of intense fear and droning sadness. So... I connected remotely with a teacher in the US (I'm currently living abroad) and his diagnosis was that my concentration was strong but my insight and ethics were weak, so I slip too easily into identifying with phenomena and getting caught in a mental/visual feedback loop. He pointed me towards Mahasi-style noting, which I've begun along with a shorter practice of meta concentration (using the warm feeling in the chest as object of meditation.) The noting seems to be great thus far at keeping me from identiying with my thoughts, emotions, etc and the meta gives ma a bit of a well-being 'cushion'.