Where am I, and where should I go?

Fiona G, modified 4 Years ago at 10/22/19 5:10 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 10/22/19 5:07 PM

Where am I, and where should I go?

Disclaimer: near-total newbie here. please don't mind me if it turns out i truly have no idea what i'm doing (that's why i'm here).

I was introduced by a friend to dharma concepts a few weeks ago and have spent the intermediate time furiously reading up on everything I can, understanding (as much as possible) how little I know, and getting started with my own daily practice. She explained to me that her own journey started when she accidentally stumbled upon an A&P event (via 5-meo-dmt) and found herself in the dark night -- and thankfully, had someone to tell her what happened and show her the way.

As I've read through various resources (MCTB, TMI, and so on).... I've started to become a bit concerned that I may have been in the dark night myself for an unknown amount of time. In particular, this quote made me feel extremely called out:

If you are reading this book, then it is likely to have happened for you, as reading a book like this and getting this far into it is the sort of thing that people above the A&P are much more prone to do. ( MCTB )

After all, it's probably not very normal for someone to step back from their as much of their life as possible for literally months, having seemingly dropped all their supposed "ambitions", to try to figure themselves out. And reading through these resources has been very validating -- in part because I can see that some of the insights I've gained (on my own) fit into various concepts along the early stages of the path! In other words, this isn't "i read a bunch of dharma stuff and I now question my life", but rather "I've been questioning my life down to the very nature of my conscious existence for a few months, and the dharma stuff sure makes a lot of it make more sense!"