True and false Anicca

R T, modified 14 Years ago at 9/25/09 7:15 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 9/25/09 7:15 AM

True and false Anicca

This is my first post on Dharma Overground. I'm excited and a bit anxious to be part of this discussion group. I've been practicing meditation for 10 years or so, a frankenstein process pulling from different branches of wisdom and my own inner unique impulse, primarily based on Goenka Vipassana. My intent is to be as fully Awakened as I can.

More on my path later, but first point I came to after years and years I feel of bruising along without distinguishing two different approaches to Anicca. Ken Wilber in Integral Spirituality first helped me consciously see some of shortcomings of simply noting anicca. I knew something both was working and wasn't working with the approach I was following:

What was happening in me, and to many I knew, is that Anicca seen in an inauthentic way didn't get at the underlying issues. I kept using "anicca" to let negative sankharas disappear, and I became disowned from them (instead of dealing with them). These are especially true for second order reactions (e.g. shame, guilt)...I now feel the second order reactions exist to point out a flawed relationship to the original reaction (e.g. anger, desire), not to be seen as anicca. Inauthentic Anicca causes disassociation from the sankhara, as opposed to full clarity of the sankhara.

Anicca - Inauthentic
The negative situation will go away
The pain will go away
The problem will go away

Anicca - Authentic
The sensations flicker in/out of existence, sometimes with great rapidity
The suffering will be seen through
The grip/fixation will be seen through

Basically, wanted to check in with y'all to see if this conclusion/line of experience resonates. I'd love to hear experiences.

RT
thumbnail
Florian, modified 14 Years ago at 9/25/09 9:59 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 9/25/09 9:59 AM

RE: True and false Anicca (Answer)

Hi R.T.