How to tell 2nd Path Fruition from 1st Path Review Fruition?

Jazz Muzak, modified 4 Years ago at 11/3/19 7:16 PM
Created 4 Years ago at 11/3/19 7:16 PM

How to tell 2nd Path Fruition from 1st Path Review Fruition?

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to meditation practice compared to many of you. Found MCTB in 2015 after messing with some Ram Dass-y type stuff in high school and I've been working with Vipassana off and on ever since. I think I attained to 1st Path as outlined in MCTB back in September, had around 4 weeks of Review before getting shot back down into the early nanas, which seems to be pretty typical. A week later I was meditating before bed and had a fruition. One of the "pop pop pop... gone" type fruitions. I thought I might have hit 2nd Path, but soon afterwards hit a serious slump in my practice and daily life and realized that the last few days had been more characteristic of "A&P-->DN" than "Fruition-->Review."

So I'm assuming that this fruition I had (and the handful more than I've had afterwards) are just more 1st Path Review fruitions, but I feel like I don't have the technical know-how yet to be certain. There definitely wasn't a feeling of "aaahhhh, that's it" like I had after the original 1st Path Fruition, and there hasn't been that feeling of a new Review, more like I can do a "mini cycle" that feels just like they did during Review following 1st Path and get a fruition, while in the macro I'm going through a larger cycle which I feel like I'm in the DN period of.

Is there any sort of "tell" to figure out if a practitioner is experiencing Review fruit vs Path fruit?
Thanks for you time.
thumbnail
Linda ”Polly Ester” Ö, modified 4 Years ago at 11/4/19 9:10 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 11/4/19 9:10 AM

RE: How to tell 2nd Path Fruition from 1st Path Review Fruition?