RE: loss of body- help!

thumbnail
Ian And, modified 14 Years ago at 10/3/09 12:40 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 10/3/09 10:42 AM

s santory:
Hello all,
I am a fairly well read practicing beginner. As a professional musician I have developed my concentration from years of second to second awareness of what I am doing on the instrument. . . . I can keep my concentration on the object for at least an hour, with some secondary disturbances passing by like clouds. Rarely get lost in stories.

Doing Samatha practice in a retreat- from one instant to the next- I lost my body completely. It just wasn't there but my awareness was. This was totally unexpected and very freaky. I broke the session by grabbing the floor and moving to re-establish contact points.

My background is troubled as when I was an infant/child I wasn't touched, so I suppose it may have to do with this deficiency? (touch being the only way an infant knows he's 'there' etc etc) So maybe this is the reason behind my negative reaction to what might be actually positive?

Can anyone give me any idea of what's going on?
I am now doing more metta practice until I can get a handle on the samatha practice without anxiety.

Relax. (I know, sometimes better said than done. Especially when something unexpected happens.) What you experienced is normal and not abnormal.

You mentioned that you are a "practicing beginner." Depending on how long you have been practicing meditation, such occurrences are normal for beginning meditators. Can't tell you the number of weird things that happened when I first started meditating regularly. So, just accept it.

Now, as to what this might have been, we'll have to do a bit of speculation (this being the Internet and there not being instant feedback to questions for you about this). Yet, even so, the speculation may help you to figure out for yourself what occurred.