Dukkha nanas or DP/DR?

Matan Tsuberi, modified 4 Years ago at 1/17/20 12:46 AM
Created 4 Years ago at 1/17/20 12:46 AM

Dukkha nanas or DP/DR?

Hi, Here's my Dharma journey so far in a nutshell:
0. About 1 year ago, after some personal circumstances changed in my life, I gradually and eventually realized the pointlessness of my life, which felt inauthentic, sub-optimal and not fullfilling. I knew that this is going to be the case no matter what changed in my life. So I looked for Buddhism as a way out.
1. I started practicing for concentration, mainly to get to Jhana which I read (in MCTB was a good place to start.
2. After partly getting there, I attended a 10 day Goenka retreat. It was very tough but I liked it. The main point which I got from Goekna (at day 6~7) is that you can dissolve leg pain by looking at it intensly with equanimity (equanimity + concentration = purification).
3. After some weeks, the existensial crisis/depression began manifesting itself again but this time I had the skills to locate it as a sensation in the body.
4. Eventually it became kind of unbearable and I knew I had to do something about it. So I decided to use what I learned and look at those emotions really intensly with equanimity and see what happens. I really focused on the suffering until "I got to the other side", which was a very sweet experience of "grace". At the time it felt like something outside me gave me a present (I kinda asked for it because I sorta "surredenred to Krishna" as a way to lose the ego).
5. After that experience, It felt like I started a fire which could not be stopped until it consumes everything (though I didn't realise what that means). And at the same time I realised that this was the game and continued looking at suffering intensly and that became my practice/non-practice.